Channeling Change: Making Collective Impact Work

February 16, 2012 in Collective Impact, Domestic/Family Violence, Uncategorized, United Front 2011, United Front Blog Archives by United Front

Stanford Social Innovation Review & FSG Webinar
March 20, 2012
11:00–noon PT, 2:00–3:00pm ET, 7:00–8:00pm CET
Register Here

By Fay Hanleybrown, John Kania, & Mark Kramer

What does a global effort to reduce malnutrition have in common with a program to reduce teenage substance abuse in a small rural Massachusetts county? Both have achieved significant progress toward their goals: the Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN) has helped reduce nutritional deficiencies among 530 million poor people across the globe, while the Communities That Care Coalition of Franklin County and the North Quabbin(Communities That Care) has made equally impressive progress toward its much more local goals, reducing teenage binge drinking by 31 percent. Surprisingly, neither organization owes its impact to a new previously untested intervention, nor to scaling up a high-performing nonprofit organization. Despite their dramatic differences in focus and scope, both succeeded by using a collective impact approach. Download PDF to READ MORE